So what does the Treasurer do?
According to the Doña Ana County Treasurer’s website:
“The primary duties of a County Treasurer are to collect, disburse, and invest taxpayer dollars.” https://www.donaanacounty.org/sites/default/files/pages/2020_Newsletter-English.pdf
Let’s be clear, the County Treasurer does not assess taxes, in other words, does not decide how much you’re going to pay. That’s the job of the Doña Ana County Assessor https://donaanacounty.org/assessor . The Treasurer does not set policy on taxes or decide when taxes are due. Statutory due dates are applicable for this tax period unless modified or extended by the Property Tax Division of New Mexico Taxation and Revenue Department: https://www.newmexico.gov/other-affected-services/tax-and-revenue-department/ . There is no law that allows a County Treasurer to waive penalty and interest on property taxes for any reason.
So how are you going to pay your 2020 Doña Ana County taxes this November?
The First Half Tax payment is due November 10, 2020 and becomes delinquent after December 10, 2020. These are the fees for delinquent accounts:
- 1% interest accrues on the base tax each month until paid
- 1% penalty accrues on the base tax each month for up to 5 months. Minimum penalty is $5.00.
So what can you do about this? Contact your New Mexico Legislators and demand that they get you some relief in their next Legislative Session in January 2021. This website will help you find your Legislator in the New Mexico House and Senate: https://nmlegis.gov/Members/Find_My_Legislator Some incumbents may be re-elected, and attend the Legislative Session in January 2021, but if you are dissatisfied with your current Legislator, contact their opponent and demand relief! See a list of all the candidates running for office in the 2020 General Election at this website: https://candidateportal.servis.sos.state.nm.us/CandidateList.aspx?eid=2782&cty=99
Penalties and interest were waived for the 2019 second half Property tax payment that was due by May 10, 2020 as long as the account was in good standing. This was decided by the Special Session of the New Mexico Legislature in June 2020.
But penalties and interest will not be waived for the 2020 first half Property tax payment that is due by December 10, 2020 and payment for the 2020 tax balance must be made in full before May 10, 2021.
That’s why it’s so important to contact your Legislator in the New Mexico House and Senate: https://nmlegis.gov/Members/Find_My_Legislator to encourage them to pass legislation to waive penalties and interest.
Doña Ana County Tax Exemptions
- Head of family exemption:
It is a $2,000 exemption subtracted from the taxable value of your home.
Who is eligible for the Head of Family exemption and how is it applied?
New Mexico residents who are the head of the family and the property must be the owner’s primary residence in order to qualify for this exemption. Those eligible for this exemption must apply for it only once to receive it in subsequent years. Only one family exemption per household is permitted.
Valuation Freeze You must be 65 years or older OR Disabled (proof of disability status is required), make less than$35,000 Modified Gross Income, and submit an application to the Assessor’s office for three consesecutive years. After the third approved consecutive year, the freeze will remain in effect for the duration.
There are two Veteran Exemptions:
First is the 100% Disabled Veteran Exemption which is a full 100% exemption from property tax on your primary residence. The 100% Disabled Veteran Exemption can only be used on the Veteran’s primary residence.
Second is an exemption of $4,000 per veteran, which is subtracted from the taxable value of your property.
The New Mexico Veteran’s Service Commission determines all eligibility and issues a certificate to all qualifying Veterans. Take the certificate of eligibility to the County Assessor to process your exemption request. Application for exemptions must be completed during the “Notice of Value” period, which is the month of April.
DID YOU KNOW?
Real Property is land and improvements.
- If taxes on Real Property are not paid within two years of the date of delinquency, the property will be sold at state public auction.
Personal Property is livestock, manufactured homes and business equipment.
- If taxes on Personal Property are not paid within six months of the date of delinquency, the property will be seized and sold.
Unpaid tax bills are transferred from Doña Ana County to the state – to the New Mexico State Property Tax Division. You can prevent your property from being sold by entering into an Installment Agreement with the NM State Property Tax Division or by paying all delinquent taxes, penalties and interest charges, for all years, before the scheduled date of the sale of your property.